New York winners of EY Entrepreneur of the Year Award named

18 June 2018 2 min. read

As the first South American was named 2018 EY World Entrepreneur of the Year, the competition for 2019 has already begun. The consulting giant has announced the winners for the New York region Entrepreneur of the Year, who will get a shot at national glory in November, and perhaps global honors in June next year.

The EY Entrepreneur of the Year awards have come a long way since their modest Milwaukee origins in 1986. Today local award ceremonies are held in 145 cities scattered across 60 countries. Nominations are made in January, regional winners announced in June, national winners in November, and then one global winner across all categories named at a glitzy gala in Monaco the following June.

This year’s World Entrepreneur of the Year is Rubens Menin. The Brazilian real estate magnate is the first South American to scoop the award and joins a cohort of past winners which include Infosys founder Narayana Murthy. One in 200 Brazilians reportedly live in a home built by Menin’s company MRV Engenharia.

EY Global Chairman and CEO, Mark Weinberger, said: “His leadership is exemplified by his persistence to succeed against a backdrop of national economic challenges and turbulent years to create Brazil’s largest public housing provider and become Latin America’s largest real estate developer.”

While Menin enjoys the accolades, the competition to find next year’s winner has already begun. EY has declared the winners of the Entrepreneur of the Year Award in the New York Region, who are eligible to enter the Entrepreneur of the Year National Awards gala in Palm Springs, California, on November 10.

New York winners of EY Entrepreneur of the Year Award named

Despite the title, there are multiple winners of the award. All are business leaders nominated by their peers and selected by an independent panel of former award winners, investors and top CEOs.

"EY has been recognizing leading entrepreneurs who do things differently for more than three decades," said Debra von Storch, EY Americas Entrepreneur Of The Year Program Director. "We are proud to announce the 2018 winners, who boldly break the mold to create new solutions, innovations, and possibilities that redefine how we live, work, and play."

The winners for the Entrepreneur Of The Year 2018 New York Award include:

Jen Rubio and Steph Korey - Away

Dr. Vlad Coric - Biohaven Pharmaceuticals

Alexis Lê-Quôc and Olivier Pomel - Datadog, Inc.

Robert Matthews - Fieldpoint Private

Jeremy Miller -

Isaac Oates - Justworks, Inc.

Nicholas Taranto - Plated

Patrick Walsh - Town Sports International Holdings, Inc.

Chris Riccobono - UNTUCKit LLC

The consulting firm’s awards program is closely linked to the Growth Markets Network, which helps early stage and mid-market companies evolve into market leaders. Former regional and national winners of the EY Entrepreneur of the Year award include Jeff Bezos of Amazon (1997), Howard Schultz of Starbucks (1996), and Larry Page of Google (2003).